Statistics 311/Electrical Engineering 377: Information Theory and Statistics

John Duchi, Stanford University, Winter 2019

Course Schedule

Topics Reading
Tue, Jan 8 Overview, basic divergence measures LN 1-2, CT 2
Thu, Jan 10 Chain rules and general divergence measures LN 2, CT 2
Tue, Jan 15 Le Cam and Fano inequalities, concentration LN 2, 3.1, RM 2.3
Thu, Jan 17 Sub-exponential concentration LN 3.1, 3.2, RM 2.4
Tue, Jan 22 Martingale methods and uniformity LN 3.2, 3.3, RM 2
Thu, Jan 24 Uniform laws, beginning PAC-Bayes bounds LN 4.1, 4.2
Tue, Jan 29 PAC-Bayes bounds and bits of interactive data analysis LN 4.2
Thu, Jan 31 Interactive data analysis LN 4.3
Tue, Feb 5
Thu, Feb 7
Tue, Feb 12
Thu, Feb 14
Tue, Feb 19
Thu, Feb 21
Tue, Feb 26
Thu, Feb 28
Tue, Mar 5
Thu, Mar 7
Tue, Mar 12
Thu, Mar 14

Abbreviation key